Denmark to ratify the Unified Patent Court agreement

Click here to download the PDF and read the whole article.

On 25 May 2014, the Danish public, by way of referendum coinciding with the European Parliament elections, voted in favour of joining the Unified Patent Court (UPC). 62.5% of the votes cast were agreeable to joining the UPC. The UPC will have sole jurisdiction over the Unitary Patent (UP), which is yet to come into force, and ultimately all patents obtained through the European Patent Office.  Please see our previous articles “The Unitary Patent” and “The Unified Patent Court” which explain the Agreements on the UPC and UP.

A press release from the European Commission welcoming the vote can be viewed here.

Before it comes into force, the Agreement on the UPC must be ratified by at least 13 countries, including the UK, France and Germany. To date, Austria, Belgium, France and Malta have ratified the Agreement, with Denmark now soon to follow.

We will keep you up to date with all of the latest developments.

Category: Latest Insights | Published: | Read more